Friday, December 8, 2017

Border communities condemn Border Patrol murder of migrant

SOA Watch
December 6, 2017
On November 29, 2017, Border Patrol agents from the Tucson Sector shot and killed a migrant in a remote region of the Baboquivari mountains on the Tohono O’odham Nation. Rodolfo Karisch, Chief Patrol Agent of the Border Patrol’s Tucson Sector, justified the killing, saying that after two agents chased and tried to detain a group, one individual became “assaultive.” There is no independent corroboration of this version of events.

We recognize this as murder, and part of a larger trend of Border Patrol acting with impunity in remote desert regions. Border Patrol tactics of chase and scatter are violent and regularly result in death and disappearance.

The shooting happened on Tohono O’odham land, high in the mountains, over 20 miles from the border. This is a direct result of border militarization where urban crossings have been sealed and internal checkpoints have been implemented, pushing people further into the mountains where agency accountability and oversight is impossible.

We reject the categories of criminalization that puts every migrant and refugee in the borderlands directly in the crosshairs of Border Patrol sights. These boundaries and borders were drawn by the imposition of a white settler nation and US imperialism. Border enforcement is genocide. This impunity to kill will not go unchallenged.

We demand the opening of investigations of the 55 people murdered directly by Border Patrol and we demand justice for all the victims and their families.

No one deserves to die this way. We grieve this life, and all lives lost in the militarized borderlands.

With rage,
Coalición de Derechos Humanos / SOA Watch / Border Patrol Victims Network/  No More Deaths / Chukson Water Protectors / L.U.P.E. Action Committee / Alliance for Global Justice / PanLeft / Split Seeds Productions / Tuell Consulting / Tucson Showing up for Racial Justice (SURJ) / Casa Mariposa / Borderlinks / LUCHA / Spoken Futures / La Pilita / Observatorio de Derechos Humanos de los Pueblos / Soldepaz – Pachakuti / Red de  Colectivos La Araña Feminista de Venezuela / Corriente Revolucionaria Bolívar y Zamora de Venezuela / Movimiento Agro Comunal Bolivariano de Venezuela / Comisión Multisectorial del Uruguay / Red de Integración Orgánica – Rio – Por la Defensa de la Madre Tierra y los Derechos Humanos de Guatemala / Confederación Nacional de Organizaciones Campesinas, Indígenas y Negras (FENOCIN) de Ecuador / Confederación Sindical Única De Trabajadores Campesinos de Bolivia (CSUTCB) / Stop the Wall /Palestinian Farmers Union / Palestinian New Federation of Trade Unions / Palestine Youth Forum / Association for Farmers’ Rights and for the Preservation of the environment / Women Center for Social Development / Association Jadayel / Palestinian Center for Culture, Arts and creativity / Palestinian Farmers Society-Tulkarem / Ni’lin Society for Development and Community Work / Popular Council to Protect the Jordan Valley / Movimiento Nacional del Poder Popular – México / Movimiento Nacional del Poder Popular Zacatecas / Movimiento del Magisterio Democrático Nacional, Comité Ejecutivo Nacional Democrático del Sindicato Nacional de Trabajadores de la Educación en Lucha (CEND del SNTE en Lucha) / Asamblea de los Pueblos en Defensa del Territorio, la  Educación Pública, Laica, Gratuita y los Derechos Humanos / Frente de Pueblos en Defensa de la Tierra en San Salvador Atenco (FPDT-Atenco) / Consejo de Defensa de los Derechos del Pueblo (CODEP-MNPP) / Consejo de Organizaciones Interdisciplinarias Vinculadas por Oaxaca (COIVO) / Coordinación de Comunidades Indígenas de la Sierra Sur (COCISS) / Comité de Defensa Ciudadana (CODECI) / Contingentes del Comité Ejecutivo Nacional Democrático del SNTE en Lucha (CEND SNTE en Lucha) / Congreso Nacional de Bases / Movimiento del Magisterio Democrático Nacional: Sección III de Baja California Sur /  Sección V de Campeche/ Sección X de la Ciudad de México / Sección XIII y XLV de Guanajuato / Sección XIV de Guerrero / Sección XV de Hidalgo / Movimiento Magisterial Jalisciense, Secciones XVI y XLVII de Jalisco / Sección XVIII de Michoacán / Movimiento Magisterial de Bases / Sección XIX de Morelos / Consejo Democrático Magisterial Poblano: Secciones XXIII y LI de Puebla / Movimiento Magisterial de Bases de Querétaro, Sección XXIV de Querétaro / Bases Magisteriales Democráticas de Quintana Roo, Sección XXV de Q. Roo / Bases Magisteriales de Tabasco, Sección XXIX de Tabasco, Trabajadores del Colegio de Bachilleres de Tabasco / Comité Estatal Democrático, Sección XXXII y LVI de Veracruz / Sección XXXVI del Valle de México / Consejo Nacional de Sistematización; Escuelas Integrales de Educación Básica de Michoacán / Colectivo Pedagógico “Francisco Javier Acuña Hernández” / Promotora del Poder Popular de Michoacán / Caja Popular de Ahorro “Emiliano Zapata” / Colectivo de Estudios “Ricardo Flores Magón” / Barzón Federación: Estado de México, Querétaro, Morelos, Veracruz, Guerrero y Distrito Federal / Organización Nacional del Poder Popular (ONPP) / Organización Nacional del Poder Popular de Morelos (ONPP-MORELOS) / Organización Nacional del Poder Popular del D.F. / Asamblea Permanente de los Pueblos de Morelos / Instituto Mexicano de Desarrollo Comunitario (IMDEC) / Centro de Atención en Derechos Humanos a la Mujer y el Menor Indígena (CADHMMI) / Centro Regional Indígena en Derechos Humanos “Ñuu-Savi” (CERIDH).

No comments: